Best Bones by Sarah Rose Nordgren

best bonesSeries: Pitt Poetry Series

Paperback: 88 pages

Publisher: University of Pittsburgh Press; 1 edition (September 4, 2014)

Language: English

ISBN-10: 0822963175

ISBN-13: 978-0822963172

.

Reviewed by g emil reutter

There is a strange feeling as you turn the pages of Best Bones by Sarah Rose Nordgren. Something is out of kilter, unorthodox may be the proper term but I do believe original best describes the poetry of Nordgren. She is a narrative poet dwelling equally in the shadows and light of life.
 .
In the haunting poem, Exhumation, Nordgren contrasts shadows and light throughout the poem. A gray face, greasy windows, railroad ditch, sun rise. “When the lights die you disappear”. In this terrifying poem, Nordgren’s controlled use of images is remarkable. Wrapped by I am the woman lying on her side, to the last, My Face is an aluminum dish.
 .
Exhumation
 .
I am the woman lying on her side across the van seat,
wearing a gray face, apparitional through greasy
 .
windows as you walk past the railroad ditch
early morning on a whim, wanting to watch the sun
 .
rise like you haven’t in years. My life is under yours: in-
consolable, bathed in drainage, a midden of cracked
 .
bottles, swollen tampons, rusted metal sheets cast
from the clamor. You flasher of future, your liver and lung
 .
are fleshier, pinker. When they excavate me they will find
my many napkin writings, twenty rooms I built
 .
from twine, dictionary of waste in which I define
your failure. Meanwhile: I’ll retire to my atrium, washing
 .
my perpetually warm body, liquid touching liquid
as it cools. The pipes are beginning to freeze. The all-night
 .
factory shuts down at five. When the lights die you
disappear into a wooden structure and wonder
 .
what you’ve done. Even if you’d brought your camera,
you couldn’t click me. My face is an aluminum dish.
 .
Best Bones is a collection of poetry that is an intimate collection of gently dramatic poems that will alarm and haunt you.

.

You can check out the book here: http://www.amazon.com/Best-Bones-Poetry-Sarah-Nordgren/dp/0822963175/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1410785016&sr=1-1&keywords=best+bones+by+Sarah+Rose+Nordgren

.

g-emil-reutter-g emil reutter lives and writes in the Fox Chase neighborhood of Philadelphia, Pa. (USA)  https://gereutter.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

