Tag Archives: philadelphia poetry collective

It’s National Poetry Month – FCR and Links to Reading Venues in Philly

national poetry month 1

It’s National Poetry Month and the Philadelphia Poetry Scene offers poets and lovers of poetry many venues and magazines to enjoy  during the month.

FCRMasthead2011-RGB-for PRINT docs

The Fox Chase Review and Reading Series offers our online review at www.foxchasereview.org offering a blend of local, national and international poets and writers. The reading series is held at Ryerss Museum and Library and on April 28th will feature Poets Christine Klocek-Lim and Le Hinton and an open mic following the features.(https://foxchasereview.wordpress.com/2013 ) 

Our blog https://foxchasereview.wordpress.com/ offers information on the reading series, interviews, book reviews, poetry news and general information. We hope you take the time to get to know the review and reading series and come out to Ryerss to listen to great poetry.

The scene in the Philadelphia area is vibrant and we offer the following links in no particular order to reading series we believe you will enjoy:

national poetry month 2

Moonstone Arts Center: http://www.moonstoneartscenter.org/

Philadelphia Poetry Festival: http://phillypoetryfest.blogspot.com

Apiary: http://apiarymagazine.com/

Asian Arts Initiative: http://www.asianartsinitiative.org/programs/performances.php

International House: http://ihousephilly.org/events/national-poetry-month-rudy-burckhardt/

Philadelphia Stories: http://www.philadelphiastories.org/

Kelly Writers House: http://writing.upenn.edu/wh/

Painted Bride Quarterly: http://pbq.drexel.edu/

Russian Heritage Festival : http://www.mosaicafestival.com/

National Museum of American Jewish History Presents-  Words Off the Page: An Evening with Distinguished Women Poets http://www.nmajh.org/CalendarEvent.aspx?eventid=34

Temple Poets and Writers Series: http://www.temple.edu/creativewriting/events/PnW/

Rosemont College National Poetry Month Celebration http://www.rosemont.edu/safety-alerts/index.aspx

The Muse House: http://www.musehousecenter.com/

national poetry month 3

Chapter and Verse: http://chapterhousereadings.blogspot.com/

Philadelphia Poetry Collective: http://www.philadelphiapoetrycollective.com/

Moveable Beats: http://moveablebeats.wordpress.com/

Montgomery County Poet Laureate Program: http://www.a2pwebdesign.com/montcopoet/

Manayunk Roxborough Arts Center:  http://mrartcenter.org/

Panoramic Poetry: https://www.facebook.com/panoramic.poetry

Philadelphia Poets: http://home.comcast.net/~redrose108/site/?/event/

Poets and Prophets: http://www.poetsandprophets.com/newsandevents.html

Mad Poets Society: http://www.madpoetssociety.com/

Monday Poets at the Main Philadelphia Library: http://www.freelibrary.org/libserv/monpoets.htm

NATIONAL POETRY MONTH 4

Philly Cypher: http://www.phillycypher.com/

Philadelphia Youth Poetry Movement: http://phillyyouthpoets.org/

The Pigeon Presents: https://www.facebook.com/thephillypigeon

Green Line Café: http://greenlinecafe.com/4689-2/poetry/

Poetdelphia: http://poetdelphia.wordpress.com/

Community College of Philadelphia: http://www.ccp.edu/site/academic/creativewriting/writers_festival.html

Philadelphia Spoken Word : http://www.poetry247.com/philadelphia/

If we missed a venue please send us a link and we will include it the listing.

Foxchasereview@gmail.com

-g emil reutter

From Around the Web

The Watch List at Orange Alert: http://orangealert.net/node/811

Silliman’s list of events: http://ronsilliman.blogspot.com/

An old poetry book newly discovered at www.ryerssmuseum.org

It was originally published in 1916 (our copy is from 1930) and is called A Handy Guide for Beggars – Especially those of the Poetic Fraternity”    The subtitle goes on to say “Being sundry explorations, made while afoot penniless  in Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, Tennessee, Kentucky, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania.

Events and news from New Jersey and surrounding states: New Jersey Poetry

Philly Poetry Calendar

From The Caves of Rotten Teeth: http://fromcavesofrottenteeth.blogspot.com/

Spinning with Susan Gibb : http://www.susangibb.net/

Poetry Readings and Reviews from Argentina: http://www.thepowerofpoetryreadingseries.blogspot.com/

From: http://theartblog.org/

Reveling with Paul Siegell: http://paulsiegell.blogspot.com/

The Ricky Gervais of American Poetry: http://www.americanpoetry.biz/

From Dersley: http://www.raggededge.btinternet.co.uk/nonblog.html

Philly Poetry Collective: http://www.philadelphiapoetrycollective.com/index.html

and here in Fox Chase: Lindner and Cutler in Fox Chase January 29th