September 28th – Wittle and Lowenthal in Fox Chase @ 1 p.m.

mmwittleinlondon1rodger-lowenthalThe Fox Chase Reading Series is pleased to present our Featured Poets/Writers Reading on September 28th with Rodger Lowenthal and MM Wittle at Ryerss Museum and Library, 7370 Central Avenue, Philadelphia, Pa. 19111. .  The reading will begin @ 1 p.m. in the second floor gallery of the museum. The features will be followed by an open reading. For more information on our featured readers please visit this link: https://foxchasereview.wordpress.com/2014/09/02/lowenthal-and-wittle-in-fox-chase-september-28th/

Poetry in the News…

latest news

Sweet Spot of Poetry; Celebrating the Poet by Reading Her Words – See more at:

http://mvgazette.com/news/2014/09/18/sweet-spot-poetry-celebrating-poet-reading-her-words?k=vg541c2ed4ec9c4&r=1#sthash.oThcviDl.dpuf

Poetry longlist for the National Book Award

http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/style-blog/wp/2014/09/16/draft-created-on-september-15-2014-at-622-pm/

In search of poetry

http://www.thehindubusinessline.com/features/blink/watch/in-search-of-poetry/article6426023.ece?utm_source=RSS_Feed&utm_medium=RSS&utm_campaign=RSS_Syndication

How One Poet’s ‘Genius Grant’ Became A Gift To Future Generations

http://www.npr.org/2014/09/17/349036112/how-one-poets-genius-grant-became-a-gift-to-future-generations

U-M Arabic poetry translator wins ‘genius’ grant

http://www.freep.com/story/news/local/michigan/2014/09/17/um-macarthur-fellow/15752847/

Uttering the Holy: On Poetry and Politics

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/dean-rader/post_8343_b_5825796.html

Carnegie Library opens poetry series

http://www.post-gazette.com/ae/books/2014/09/16/Carnegie-Library-opens-poetry-series/stories/201409150156

Turbulent events in Oakland spark emotion in alumna Hollie Hardy’s poetry

http://www.goldengatexpress.org/2014/09/17/hollie-hardy-poetry/

WCU poetry director’s removal results in canceled conference

http://www.dailylocal.com/general-news/20140916/wcu-poetry-directors-removal-results-in-canceled-conference

The Here & Now Duo – A Profile

the here and now 1The Here and Now are an acoustic duo consisting of Lyndsay Mahalis on vocals and Donald McGettigan on guitar and vocals based out of the Fox Chase neighborhood of Philadelphia. They perform covers and original compositions. McGettigan a self-taught guitar player combines with Mahalis whose background in stage/theater give them a unique sound with beautiful harmonies.

the here and now @ eddington house

The duo has played a number of festivals as well as touring the local Philly scene at venues such as Bernie’s Pub, The Broken Goblet, Joe’s Coffee House, Hard Rock Café, Lickety Split, Vice Coffee, and The Grape Room.

the here and now 2Jay Breslin of Rock on Philly described a performance by the duo, “The Here & Now put on a great set filled with originals and covers, including a spot-on rendition of “Little Talks” by Of Monsters and Men . . . we heard beautiful harmonies that made for a truly heartfelt set.the here and now 8

Lindsay Mahalis said it just seemed natural to form a duo with Don. “We were in a band for awhile together and the more time we spent performing and playing music together, the more we realized we were heading in the same direction. We have nearly the same exact taste in music.  We can usually hear something the other will love.  On top of that, we have a really nice vocal blend.  Our tones are complementary to the other which makes for some really nice harmonies.  The more apparent that became, the more we realized it should be spotlighted.  We soon realized we could make this work and become something people would hopefully want to see”.  Mahalis has a simple desire as the duo moves forward, she says, “We’d love to play as much as possible, hopefully earning enough money along the way to record some of our original songs.”

mmp the here and nowIf you would like to see the duo play over the next 3 months you can find them at a Toys for Tots benefit at Eggs Nest Inn on November 15th, and a likely return to Broken Goblet Brewing Co in Bristol.

The Here & Now on Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC8twXbd1FiP4lX3ovsMe29A?app=desktop

The Here & Now on Facebookhttps://www.facebook.com/TheHereAndNowAcoustic

For more information on The Here & Now or to book them,  contact them at Thehereandnow.acoustic@gmail.com

 

Best Bones by Sarah Rose Nordgren

best bonesSeries: Pitt Poetry Series

Paperback: 88 pages

Publisher: University of Pittsburgh Press; 1 edition (September 4, 2014)

Language: English

ISBN-10: 0822963175

ISBN-13: 978-0822963172

.

Reviewed by g emil reutter

There is a strange feeling as you turn the pages of Best Bones by Sarah Rose Nordgren. Something is out of kilter, unorthodox may be the proper term but I do believe original best describes the poetry of Nordgren. She is a narrative poet dwelling equally in the shadows and light of life.
 .
In the haunting poem, Exhumation, Nordgren contrasts shadows and light throughout the poem. A gray face, greasy windows, railroad ditch, sun rise. “When the lights die you disappear”. In this terrifying poem, Nordgren’s controlled use of images is remarkable. Wrapped by I am the woman lying on her side, to the last, My Face is an aluminum dish.
 .
Exhumation
 .
I am the woman lying on her side across the van seat,
wearing a gray face, apparitional through greasy
 .
windows as you walk past the railroad ditch
early morning on a whim, wanting to watch the sun
 .
rise like you haven’t in years. My life is under yours: in-
consolable, bathed in drainage, a midden of cracked
 .
bottles, swollen tampons, rusted metal sheets cast
from the clamor. You flasher of future, your liver and lung
 .
are fleshier, pinker. When they excavate me they will find
my many napkin writings, twenty rooms I built
 .
from twine, dictionary of waste in which I define
your failure. Meanwhile: I’ll retire to my atrium, washing
 .
my perpetually warm body, liquid touching liquid
as it cools. The pipes are beginning to freeze. The all-night
 .
factory shuts down at five. When the lights die you
disappear into a wooden structure and wonder
 .
what you’ve done. Even if you’d brought your camera,
you couldn’t click me. My face is an aluminum dish.
 .
Best Bones is a collection of poetry that is an intimate collection of gently dramatic poems that will alarm and haunt you.

.

You can check out the book here: http://www.amazon.com/Best-Bones-Poetry-Sarah-Nordgren/dp/0822963175/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1410785016&sr=1-1&keywords=best+bones+by+Sarah+Rose+Nordgren

.

g-emil-reutter-g emil reutter lives and writes in the Fox Chase neighborhood of Philadelphia, Pa. (USA)  https://gereutter.wordpress.com/

The Fascinating Life of A.D. Winans @ Empty Mirror Books

ADWinans

Empty Mirror Books presents A.D. Winans on A.D. Winans

http://www.emptymirrorbooks.com/beat/winans.html

You can read the poetry of A.D. Winans in The Fox Chase Review at these links:

http://www.foxchasereview.org/12SU/ADWinans.html http://www.foxchasereview.org/10SU/ADWinans.html and  http://www.foxchasereview.org/09WS/11-ADWinans.html

 

Celebrating the Work of Cid Corman – Live Today 9/16

From Al Filreis

cid-corman

 

On Tuesday, September 16 the Kelly Writers House will host two events celebrating the work of Cid Corman. Both events will be webcast live. To connect to the video stream, go here

http://writing.upenn.edu/wh/multimedia/tv/ at the time of each event.

At 4 PM (Philadelphia time) I will moderate a discussion about Corman’s work featuring Thomas Devaney, Gregory Dunne, and Frank Sherlock.

At 6 PM (Philly time) there will be a celebratory reading. We have invited eight poets, scholars, and fans of Cid Corman—Laynie Browne, Thomas Devaney, Gregory Dunne, Pattie McCarthy, Jenn McCreary, Joshua Moses, Frank Sherlock & myself—to read and briefly comment upon selected Corman poems, one poem per person.

If you are in the Philadelphia area, you are of course welcome to come to 3805 Locust Walk and join us in person. Otherwise, we hope you will click on KWH-TV at the link above and will watch the live stream.

 

Photographic Exhibition of West Texas Opens at the Camel Saloon

From Russell Streur

 Courtesy Camel Saloon and Stephanie D. Rodgers

Francisco Coronado came through in a futile quest for New World gold in 1541, crossing paths with the ancestors of a tribe that became known as the Apache.  Horseback Comanche came later, pushing Geronimo’s fierce ancestors west and holding sway until after the Civil War.  Then another mounted tribe came, the U.S. Cavalry, and sheepherders and cattle barons followed.

Somewhere along the way, the area captured the name Panhandle, the Texas Panhandle.  In shorthand, it consists of the 26 counties at the top of Texas, bordered to the north and east by Oklahoma, in the west by New Mexico.  Texas State Highway 207 divides the Panhandle one way;   over the bones of Route 66, Interstate 40 divides it the other.

Somewhere else along the way, the name West Texas took hold, too

By either name, it’s a dry place, tilting up through the Llano Estacado tableland toward the High Plains.  The country’s second largest canyon, the Palo Duro, is here, and a casual geographer may guess correctly that Amarillo is a Panhandle city.  So are Dumas, Borger, Hereford, Canyon and Pampa, but it takes a more dedicated cartographer to place those pins on the map.

The Saloon’s own Stephanie D. Rogers lives and writes in the Panhandle, and she’s been known to take a photograph or two of the place.  She has graciously shared the scenes and sights with the tavern, and I am delighted to invite all the patrons to come along for a ride.

 20/20:  Stephanie D. Rogers -Eye on West Texas

http://camelsaloonwesttexas.blogspot.com/